[Img: Logo]

Euro-Asian Astronomical Society
The International Astronomy Olympiad

Armenia Belorussia Bulgaria China Crimean peninsula Croatia Czechia Estonia India Indonesia Italy Kazakhstan Korea Lithuania Moscow land Romania Russia Serbia Sweden Thailand
Australia Bangladesh Brazil Denmark Finland Georgia Greece Iran Ireland Japan Kirgizstan Kuwait Latvia Mexico Moldavia Poland Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Switzerland Ukraine Yugoslavia Vietnam

XIII International Astronomy Olympiad

Trieste (Italy), October 13-21, 2008.

Summaries. Results

Observatory of Trieste
LOC Web-site


Short information

The 13th International Astronomy Olympiad has been held successfully in Trieste (Italy) on October 13-21, 2008. It was the second time the Olympiad held in West Europe.


There were 19 teams participated in the XIII IAO:

  • Armenia Armenia
  • Belorussia Belorussia (ind.)
  • Bulgaria Bulgaria
  • China China
  • Croatia Croatia
  • Czechia Czechia
  • Estonia Estonia
  • India India
  • Indonesia Indonesia
  • Italy Italy
  • Kazakhstan Kazakhstan
  • Korea Korea
  • Lithuania Lithuania
  • Moscow Land Moscow Land
  • Romania Romania
  • Russia Russia
  • Serbia Serbia
  • Sweden Sweden
  • Thailand Thailand
  • Common Photo
    Common photo of participants
    (click to enlarge the photo)



    In the evening of October 19, at the conclusion of all the rounds the results being available, the Jury Board members have a meeting to look at the overall performance of all the students without knowing their names or nationalities (the so called "blind minutes"). As the usual procedure at this meeting, they decided on the cut off level for the I Diploma, II Diploma, III Diploma (corresponding to the Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals) and Diploma of Participation. Here is this decision. But, as per convention, the names should not be announced till the Closing Ceremony.

    The Closing Ceremomy took place on October 20. Fourteen students won the first prizes in the Olympiad, including Park Woo Rhim, Korea (juniors) and Vadim Lebedev, Russia (seniors) reached the best results.



    The whole list of Winners and Prizewinners of the Olympiad

    The Web-page of the XIII Olympiad before its organisation (information for possible participants)

    Schedule of the Olympiad 2008:

  • Sunday, October 12 - Arriving of some teams
  • Monday, October 13 - Day of arrival
  • Tuesday, October 14 - Day of opening ceremony
  • Wednesday, October 15 - Day of the theoretical round
  • Thursday, October 16 - Day of the observational round
  • Friday, October 17 - Day of excursion to Basovizza Observatory
  • Saturday, October 18 - Day of the practical round
  • Sunday, October 19 - Day of excursion to Venice
  • Monday, October 20 - Day of closing ceremony
  • Tuesday, October 21 - Day of teams departure

    Committees of the XIII IAO

    The Olympic Advisory Committee 2008

  • M.G.Gavrilov (IAO Chairman) - Chairman,
  • C.Boehm (Trieste, XIII IAO-2008 LOC Chairman),
  • I.V.Salnikov (Simferopol', XII IAO-2007 and IX IAO-2004 LOC Chairman),
  • A.Kumar (Bombay, XI IAO-2006 LOC Chairman),
  • J.Zhu (Beijing, X IAO-2005 LOC Chairman),
  • A.R.Vaesterberg (Stockholm, VIII IAO-2003 LOC Chairman).

    Local Organizing Committee 2008

  • Prof. Emer. Margherita Hack (Trieste) - Honorary Chairperson
  • Prof. Stefano Cristiani (Trieste) - Honorary Chairman
  • Conrad Boehm (Trieste) - Chairman, boehm@oats.inaf.it
  • Mrs. Gabriella Schiulaz (Trieste) - Secretary, schiulaz@oats.inaf.it
  • Postal address: Osservatorio Astronomico di Trieste - Via G.B. Tiepolo, 11, I-34131 Trieste, Italy.
  • Phone: +39-040-3199111.
  • Fax: +39-040-309418.
  • Web-site of LOC, helpful information

    Methodical Commissions 2008

  • Dr. Michael G. Gavrilov - Chairman, Theoretical Round
  • Mauro Dolci - Chairman, Practical Round
  • Michele Maris - Chairman, Observational Round

    Jury Board 2008

  • Dr. Stefano Cristiani - Chairman
  • Dr. Michael G. Gavrilov - Vice-Chairman
  • 18 team leaders represent 18 teams - members, international part
  • 4 LOC members

    For those who want to send a team to the next Olympiads


      Dr. Michael G. Gavrilov, Founding Chairman and Coordinator of the International Astronomy Olympiad (IAO)
      ISSP of Russ. Acad. Sci., Institute avenue 15, 142432 Chernogolovka, Moscow region, Russia.

      URL: http://www.issp.ac.ru/iao/2008/
      e-mail: gavrilov@issp.ac.ru
      fax: + 7-(496-52)-49-701

      Updated 27.10.2008.