Euro-Asian Astronomical Society
The International Astronomy Olympiad

Indonesia . Kazakhstan . Kirgizstan . Korea . Russia . Singapore

The IV Asian-Pacific Astronomy Olympiad

Bishkek, Kirgizstan         16-23. XI. 2008.


Information after the Olympiad

APAO is a relatively new Olympiad which was founded in the spring 2005 as an international regional programme in line with the International Astronomy Olympiad. So in 2008 the 4th Asian-Pacific Astronomy Olympiad (IV APAO) took place. The Olympiad has been held in town of Bishkek, the capital of Kirgizia (Kyrgyzstan) and was hosted by the Republican Youth Engineering Technical Academy "Altyn-Tuyun". The local part of jury was formed by scientists from the nearest astronomical centre - city Alma-Ata, Kazakhstan.

Hotel "Issyk-Kul"
The participants stayed and the rounds were held in hotel "Issyk-Kul"

Common photo of participants
Click to enlarge

40 students from 6 teams took part in the Olympiad:

  • ID
  • IndonesiaIndonesia - 8 students
  • KG
  • KirgizstanKirgizstan - 5 students
  • KR
  • KoreaKorea - 8 students
  • KZ
  • KazakhstanKazakhstan - 10 students
  • RU
  • russiaRussia (East-Asian part) - 2 students
  • SG
  • SingaporeSingapore - 7 students

    That's a pity that teams of China, Kuwait and Vietnam that planned to participate did not find such a possibility.

    The fulfilled programme:

  • Friday-Saturday November 14-15
      Some teams arrived
  • Sunday November 16
      Main day for delegations arrive
  • Monday November 17
      Opening ceremony
      Welcome party
      Teams presentations
  • Tuesday November 18
      Theoretical round
  • Wednesday November 19
      Trip to mountains
      Observational round
  • Thursday November 20
      Trip to Issyk-Kul lake (all the day)
  • Friday November 21
      Practical round
      Excursion to Bishkek
  • Saturday November 22
      Free time
      Closing ceremony
      Final Dinner
  • Sunday November 23
      Main day for delegations departure
  • Monday November 24
      Some delegations departure
  • Winners and prizewinners of the Olympiad