en ru    

Laboratory practical training on the structural analysis for 3rd year students of the Solid State Physics Chair of MIPT

L.V. Zorina


Program of the practical training:
  1. X-ray diffraction methods in materials research
    1. Debye method: determination of lattice parameters, identification of crystal phases
    2. Laue method: orientation of a single crystal sample
    3. Oscillation method: determination of type of the Brave lattice and the unit cell parameters of a single crystal
  2. X-ray powder diffraction
    1. X-ray phase analysis: computer processing of X-ray diffraction spectra, identification of crystal phases using ICDD database
    2. The quantitative phase analysis with computer programs for full-profile fitting of powder diffraction patterns
    3. Precise determination of lattice parameters
    4. Determination of the size of particles and microstresses in a material
  3. Single crystal structural analysis
    1. Determination of translation periods and space group symmetry
    2. Analysis of Patterson function for solution of simple structures
    3. Application of direct methods for the structure solution
  4. Electron diffraction
    1. Electron diffraction in crystalline and amorphous materials
    2. Diffraction contrast in imperfect crystals
  5. Scanning electron microscopy
    1. X-ray microprobe analysis
    2. Study of surface relief

Practical works:

Work 1.X-ray phase analysis using registration of powder diffraction pattern on X-ray film (Debye Method). (Preparation of a powder sample of a simple cubic crystal; charging of X-ray camera; carrying out X-ray diffraction study by Debye method; X-ray film development; processing of Debye pattern; determination of lattice parameters; calculation of lines intensities.)

Work 2.X-ray powder diffraction: qualitative phase analysis. (Optical scheme of powder diffractometer with Bragg-Brentano geometry; preparation of a powder sample; carrying out X-ray study on powder diffractometer; processing of the received powder diffraction pattern using the standard software package; identification of crystal phase.)

Work 3.X-ray powder diffraction: quantitative phase analysis. (Preparation of a powder sample containing mixture of two phases; carrying out X-ray powder diffraction study; processing of the diffraction pattern using the standard software package; identification of crystal phases; definition of corund numbers for two phases mixed in the sample; calculation of weight constitution of the mixture of two phases; full-profile fitting of X-ray pattern by structures of known phases for definition of quantitative phase ratio.)

Work 4.X-ray powder diffraction: determination of the grains size, measurement of crystal lattice parameters. (X-ray diffraction experiment on a nanocrystal material; analyzing character of diffraction lines spreading; estimation of the size of nanocrystal grains; measurement of Debye spectra from a crystal of cubic symmetry; refining positions of diffraction maxima; application of extrapolation method for precise determination of lattice parameters.)

Work 5.Single crystal X-ray diffraction. Laue and oscillation methods: definition of orientation of single-crystal sample and determination of translation periods in crystal structure. (Preparation of single crystal sample for X-ray study; obtaining Laue diffraction patterns for two various orientations; creation of stereographic projections and definition of rotation matrix in laboratory coordinate system; measurement of oscillation X-ray pattern on oriented crystal; an indexation of diffraction reflections; definition of the translation period along a rotation axis.)

Work 6.Single crystal structural analysis: determination of lattice parameters, space group symmetry and crystal structure of a simple compound. (Preparation of a crystal with simple structure of cubic symmetry for X-ray study; collecting X-ray single crystal diffraction data on diffractometer with the CCD detector; determination of lattice parameters using a set of reciprocal lattice vectors; statistical analysis of reflections intensities; detecting the systematic absences and definition of space group symmetry; determination of crystal density and chemical elemental composition; crystal structure determination).

Work 7.Single crystal structural analysis: application of Patterson function and direct methods for a crystal structure solution. (Preparation of an organic single crystal with simple structure for X-ray study; collecting X-ray single crystal diffraction data; determination of lattice parameters and space group symmetry; application of direct methods for solution of crystal structure; X-ray diffraction experiment on a simple cubic crystal; analysis of Patterson function and structure solution.)

Work 8.Electron diffraction: measurement and indexation of electron diffraction patterns, determination of crystal lattice parameters. Dark-field image: size determination of diffracting objects.

Work 9.Scanning electron microscopy: X-ray microprobe analysis and study of surface structure.

Agarkov D.A. Tel: +7(916)7584930 email: agarkov@issp.ac.ru

en ru    

Лабораторный практикум по структурному анализу для студентов 3-го курса кафедры ФТТ ФОПФ МФТИ

к.ф.-м.н. Л.В. Зорина

Аннотация

Практикум предназначен для ознакомления студентов с основными принципами дифракционного анализа атомной структуры кристаллических материалов. Лабораторные работы дают необходимые навыки в методах структурного анализа: определение постоянных решетки, ориентации кристаллов, фазового и элементного состава образцов.

Программа курса

Программа Практикума:
  1. Рентгенографические методы исследования материалов
    1. Метод Дебая: определение параметров решетки, идентификация кристаллических фаз
    2. Метод Лауэ: установление ориентации монокристаллического образца
    3. Метод качания: определение периодов идентичности монокристалла, определение типа решетки Бравэ
  2. Порошковая дифрактометрия
    1. Рентгенфазовый анализ: компьютерная обработка спектров, идентификация кристаллических фаз с использованием базы данных ICDD
    2. Количественный фазовый анализ с использованием корундовых чисел и компьютерных программ для полнопрофильной подгонки спектров
    3. Прецизионное определение параметров решетки кристаллической структуры
    4. Определение размера частиц и микронапряжений в материале
  3. Монокристальный структурный анализ
    1. Определение параметров решетки и пространственной группы симметрии кристалла
    2. Анализ функции Паттерсона для расшифровки простых структур
    3. Применение прямых методов решения структуры
  4. Электронография
    1. Дифракция электронов на кристаллических и аморфных материалах
    2. Дифракционный контраст на несовершенных кристаллах
  5. Сканирующая электронная микроскопия
    1. Микрозондовый рентгеноспектральный анализ
    2. Исследование рельефа поверхности
Лабораторные работы:
Работа №1. Рентгенфазовый анализ при регистрации дифракционной картины на пленку (Метод Дебая). ( приготовление порошкового образца кристалла простой структурой кубической симметрии для съемки, зарядка камеры, проведение съемки, проявка пленки; обработка дебаеграммы, определение параметров решетки; расчет интенсивностей дебаевской дифракции для заданной структуры)

Работа №2. Рентгеновская порошковая дифрактометрия: качественный фазовый анализ.(оптическая схема дифрактометра - фокусировка брега-брентано, приготовление порошкового образца для съемки, проведение съемки на дифрактометре, обработка полученного спектра с помощью стандартного пакета программ дифрактометра, идентификация кристаллической фазы)

Работа №3. Рентгеновская порошковая дифрактометрия: количественный фазовый анализ.( приготовление порошкового образца смеси двух фаз для съемки, проведение съемки на дифрактометре, обработка полученного спектра с помощью стандартного пакета программ, идентификация кристаллических фаз; определение корундовых чисел для фаз, входящих в образец, вычисление весового состава образца по фазам; полнопрофильная подгонка спектра известными структурами фаз для определения количественного состава)

Работа №4. Рентгеновская порошковая дифрактометрия: определение размера зерен, измерение параметров кристаллической решетки твердых тел.(съемка образца нанокристаллического материала, установление характера уширений дифракционных линий, оценка размера нанокристаллических зерен; съемка дебаевского спектра образца кубического кристалла, измерение положений дифракционных максимумов, применение метода экстраполяции для прецизионного определения параметров решетки)

Работа №5. Рентгенография монокристаллов. Рентгенографические методы Лауэ и качания: определение кристаллографической ориентации монокристаллического образца и определение периодов идентичности кристаллической структуры. (приготовление монокристального образца для съемки, проведение съемки для двух различных ориентаций, проявка пленки, построение стереографических проекций и определение матрицы поворота в лабораторной системе координат; съемка рентгенограммы качания ориентированного кристалла, индицирование рефлексов на рентгенограмме, определение периодов идентичности вдоль оси вращения)

Работа №6. Рентгеноструктурный анализ: определение параметров решетки, пространственной группы симметрии и атомной структуры кристалла простого вещества.(приготовление образца кристалла с простой структурой кубической симметрии для съемки, проведение съемки на монокристальном дифрактометре с CCD детектором, определение параметров решетки по набору векторов обратной решетки, статистический анализ интенсивностей рефлексов, выявление систематических погасаний, определение пространственной группы симметрии кристалла; измерение плотности кристалла, определение элементного состава, установление атомной структуры)

Работа №7. Рентгеноструктурный анализ: применение функции Паттерсона и прямых методов расшифровки структур. (приготовление для съемки образца органического кристалла с простой структурой, проведение съемок, определение параметров решетки и пространственной группы симметрии, применение прямого метода для расшифровки атомной структуры; съемка образца кристалла с простой структурой кубической симметрии, анализ функции Паттерсона и расшифровка структуры )

Работа №8. Электронография. Дифракция электронов: получение и индицирование электронограмм, определение параметров решетки кристалла. Темнопольное изображение: определение размеров рассеивающих объектов.

Работа №9. Сканирующая электронная микроскопия: микрозондовый рентгеноспектральный анализ и исследование структуры поверхности.

Агарков Д.А. • Тел: +7(916)7584930 • email: agarkov@issp.ac.ru