en ru

Planetary mixer

Avaliable methods of research

Electrode polarization measurements

The available setups make it possible to study polarization resistance and overpotential-current dependencies of individual electrodes in the so-called half-cells, to assess power density and overall current-voltage dependencies of model SOFCs, to analyze kinetics of electrochemical reactions in various electrode systems, and to evaluate long-term stability of the electrodes, solid electrolytes and electrochemical cells.

For the model half-cells, the technique involves current (potential) scanning combined with impedance spectroscopy. The measurements are carried out in the 3-electrode cells with working (WE), counter (CE) and reference (RE) electrodes.

The solid electrolyte membrane separates two chambers where oxygen, air, nitrogen, hydrogen or their mixtures can be supplied; the oxygen partial pressure over WE is continuously controlled by an electrochemical sensor. If necessary, the gas mixtures may be dried or humidified prior to entering the chamber.

The impedance measurements enable to separate Ohmic losses associated with the resistivity of the electrochemical cell components from the polarization losses resultant from slow kinetics of the electrode processes:

The electrode overpotential under a given current can be extracted:

h = U - IROhm

where U is the potential difference between the WE and RE, I is the current flowing between WE and CE, and IROhm is the ohmic contribution to the total potential drop.

... top

en ru

ЛМЭТ ИФТТ РАН
Ультразвуковая ванна

Методики лаборатории


Измерения электродной поляризации

Имеющееся в лаборатории оборудование позволяет определять поляризационное сопротивление и снимать зависимости перенапряжения от плотности тока для электродов так называемых "полуячеек". Данный метод также позволяет снимать вольтамперные зависимости и определять мощность модельных ТОТЭ, анализировать кинетику электрохимических процессов в электродных системах, проводить ресурсные испытания как для отдельных компонентов, так и для всей электрохимической ячейки.

Измерения модельных полуячеек проводится с использованием 3-электродной схемы, включающую в себя рабочий электрод (WE), противоэлектрод (CE) и электрод сравнения (RE). Испытания проводится в гальванодинамическом или потенциодинамическом режиме, при одновременном измерении импеданса между WE и RE.



Мембрана твердого электролита разделяет рабочую зону на две камеры, в которые можно подавать кислород, воздух, азот, водород и их смеси. Парциальное давление кислорода над WE непрерывно контролируется при помощи электрохимического датчика. При необходимости возможно предварительное осушение/увлажнение газов.

Импеданс-спектроскопия позволяет определить омические потери, обусловленные сопротивлением компонентов электрохимической ячейки, и поляризационные потери, связанные с медленной кинетикой электродных процессов:



Перенапряжение электрода при фиксированном токе определяется как:

h = U - IROhm

где U - разность потенциалов между WE и RE, I - ток, проходящий между WE и CE, IROhm - омический вклад в суммарное падение напряжения.











... наверх