en ru

LMET ISSP RAS
Thermogravimetric analyser

Avaliable methods of research


XPS

X-Ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), also called as electron spectroscopy for chemical analysis (ESCA), provides the information on the chemical and elemental composition of the materials. The sample is exposed to X-Ray irradiation which induces emission of photoelectrons from the surface. The kinetic energy of the electrons emitted is governed by the electron structure of the element. The electron binding energy may be expressed by the formula

Ebinding=hn - (Ekinetic+j)

where hn corresponds to the X-ray photon energy, Ebinding is the kinetic energy of the electron emitted and j is the work function determined by the spectrometer characteristics and material properties. Therefore, the binding energy of the electron and the amount of the electrons with the given bonding energy (the position and intensity of the peaks on XPS spectrum) enables to identify the element, its chemical state and amount.

Auger electron spectroscopy (AES) is a modification of the photoelectron spectroscopy, where the adsorption of photoelectrons leads to a re-distribution of the electrons over the electron structure and emission of so-called Auger electrons from the top atomic layers. Since those eletrones are generally present on the sample surface, the method is applicable for surface investigations. AES allows to detect the presence of all the elements at the surface except for hydrogen and helium.

Electron spectrometer Kratos AXIS Ultra DLD is designed for investigation of the surface in ultra-high vacuum and allows to obtain the following information:
  • Elemental qualitative and quantitative surface composition
  • Chemical states of the elements at the surface
  • Mapping of the element distribution over the surface
  • Electron structure of the valence band
  • Atomic structure of the surface of single crystals

Basic parameters:
  • Sensitivity: 0.1 at. %
  • Acceptable area for XPS analysis: from 15?15 ?m2 to 300?700 ?m2
  • Penetration depth - to 3 nm
  • Spatial resolution for mapping of the element distribution over the surface using XPS technique: 5 ?m
  • Spatial resolution for mapping of the element distribution over the surface using AES technique: 5 nm
  • Option of the surface charging compensation when studying high-resistive samples
  • Option of surface treating with ionized argonTemperature range: from -100 C to +600 C

... top

en ru

ЛМЭТ ИФТТ РАН
Виброгрохот

Методики лаборатории


РФС

Рентгеновская фотоэлектронная спектроскопия (РФС) дает информацию о химическом и элементном составе материалов. Образец подвергается ренгеновскому излучению, что приводит к эмиссии фотоэлектронов с поверхности. Кинетическая энергия фотоэлектронов определяется электронной структурой элемента. Энергия связи фотоэлектронов связана с остальными параметрами следующим образом:

Ebinding=hn - (Ekinetic+j)

где hn - энергия рентгеновского излучения, Ebinding - кинетическая энергия вылетевшего фотоэлектрона, d j - величина, определяемая характеристиками спектрометра и свойствами материала. Таким образом, величина энергии связи и количество электронов с данной энергией (позиция и интенсивность пика на РФС спектре) позволяют идентифицировать химический элемент, определить его химическое состояние и количество.

Одной из модификаций метода является Оже-электронная спектроскопия (AES), которая основана на поглощении фотоэлектрона электронной структурой элемента, перераспределении в ней электронов и эмиссии так называемых Оже-электронов с верхних уровней. Поскольку последние электроны в основном присутствуют на поверхности образца, данный метод широко используется для поверхностных исследований. Оже-спектроскопия позволяет определить все поверхностные элементы тяжелее гелия.

Электронный спектрометр Kratos AXIS Ultra DLD предназначен для исследования поверхности в ультравысоком вакууме и позволяет получить следующую информацию:
  • Элементный качественный и количественный состав поверхности.
  • Химическое состояние элементов на поверхности
  • Распределение элементов по поверхности
  • Электронная структура валентной зоны
  • Атомная структура поверхности монокристаллов

Основные характеристики прибора:
  • Элементная чувствительность: 0.1 ат. %
  • Допустимая область для РФС анализа: от 15?15 мкм2 до 300?700 мкм2
  • Глубина проникновения - до 3 нм
  • Пространственное разрешение при построении карты распределения элементов по поверхности для метода РФС: 5 мкм
  • Пространственное разрешение при построении карты распределения элементов по поверхности для метода Оже-спектроскопии: 100 нм
  • Возможность компенсации поверхностного заряда при проведении исследования поверхности высокоомных образцов
  • Возможность очистки поверхности методом травления поверхности ионами аргона
  • Температурный режим исследований: -100oC - +600oC

... наверх